Speaking Engagements & Events

Upcoming Scheduled Events

September 2022

Monday, September 5-7
School Visits
Atlanta, GA

Wednesday, September 22
School Visits
St Louis, MO

Tuesday, September 27 & 28, 2022
Community Read Event
New Castle County Library
New Castle, Delaware

Friday, September 30-October 1, 2022
20th Annual Ashley Bryan Art Series Conference
Broward County African American Research Library and Cultural Center
Fort Lauderdale, FL

October 2022

Wednesday, October 12-14, 2022
Virginia Children’s Book Festival
Campus of Longwood University
Farmville, VA

Saturday, October 15, 2022
Chappaqua Children’s Book Festival
Chappaqua, NY

Wednesday, October 19, 2022
School Visit
Concord, MA

Thursday, October 20, 2022
Cancel Culture: Banning Books Edition Panel
7 pm at Boston University’s Jacob Sleeper Auditorium
871 Commonwealth Ave
Boston, MA

Thursday, October 27, 2022
Kirkus Awards Ceremony
Central Library
Austin, TX

November 2022

Wednesday, November 9, 2022
Virtual School Visit

Thursday, November 17-22, 2022
NCTE CLA Breakfast, Keynote Speech (Saturday, Nov 19)
Anaheim, CA

February 2023

Friday, February 3, 2023
The Texas Council of Teachers of English Language Arts
58th Annual TCTELA Conference
Denton, TX

Tuesday-Thursday, February 7-9, 2023
Artist in Residence
Westport, CT

Friday, February 10, 2023
School Visit
NJ

Saturday, February 11, 2023
African American Children’s Book Festival
Philadelphia, PA

Saturday, February 25, 2023
LibraryPalooza Festival
San Antonio, TX

March 2023

Friday, March 3-4, 2023
North Texas Teen Book Festival
Irving Convention Center
Irving, TX

Thursday, March 9, 2023
2023 IRC Conference
Illinois Reading Council
Springfield, IL

Wednesday, March 22-23, 2023
Vassar College
Poughkeepsie, NY

April 2023

Tuesday, April 4, 2023
SCHOOL TRIP’S BOOK BIRTHDAY!!!

Wednesday, April 19-23, 2023
TLA- Texas Library Association
Keynote at Black Caucus Round Table Legacy Author Event on 4/20
Austin, TX

Saturday, April 22-23, 2023
LA Times Festival of Books (Possibly)
Los Angeles, CA

Tuesday, April 25, 2023
School Visit
Alexandria, VA

Thursday, April 27, 2023
Arlington Reads: Get Graphic at APL
Arlington Public Library
1015 N. Quincy St.
Arlington, VA 22201

May 2023

Saturday, May 6, 2023
Hudson Children’s Book Festival
Hudson, NY

Friday, May 19, 2023
Opelika Public Library
Opelika, Alabama

Thursday, June 22-27, 2023
ALA Annual Conference
Chicago, IL